FLC Icon

Legislative Policy Committees

Each year, municipal officials from across the state volunteer to serve on the League’s five Legislative policy committees.


Policy committee appointments for 2021-2022 have been announced. The Florida League of Cities’ Legislative Policy Committees set the legislative agenda for the League and Florida’s 411 municipalities.

Appointments are typically a one-year commitment and involve developing the League’s Legislative Action Agenda detailing priority issues that are most likely to affect daily municipal governance and local decision making during the upcoming legislative session. Policy committee members also help League staff understand the real-world implications of proposed legislation and are asked to serve as advocates throughout the legislative process. Learn More

The chairs, staff contacts and rosters (new 2021-2022 rosters will be available soon) for each policy committee can be found below. Our gratitude to the officials who are serving as chair and vice-chair of these committees. Their leadership is essential as we prepare for another Legislative session. 

In addition to the policy committees, League members also serve on the following standing committees: the Legislative Committee, the Advocacy Committee and the Resolutions Committee. Learn More

2021-2022 Meeting Schedule

  • June 11, 2021, from 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. at the Hyatt Regency Orlando Airport, 9300 Fuqua Blvd, Orlando, FL, 32827.
  • July 16, 2021, from 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. at the Hyatt Regency Orlando Airport, 9300 Fuqua Blvd, Orlando, FL, 32827.
  • August 12, 2021 during FLC Annual Conference. The Conference will be held at the Orlando World Center Marriott, 8701 World Center Dr, Orlando, FL, 32821.
  • Policy committees will meet during FLC Legislative Conference on November 3-5, 2021 at the Embassy Suites Lake Buena Vista South, 4955 Kyngs Heath Road, Kissimmee, FL, 34746.

Finance, Taxation & Personnel

This committee addresses municipal roles in general finance and tax issues, Home Rule revenues, infrastructure funding, insurance, local option revenues, pension issues, personnel and collective bargaining issues, revenue sharing,  tax and budget reform, telecommunications and workers’ compensation. 

FLC Staff Contact: Amber Hughes  │  FLC Staff Assistant: Michaela Metcalfe   │ 2021-2022 Committee Roster   

Kenny Johnson - City of Palm Bay_web

Chair: Deputy Mayor Kenny Johnson
City of Palm Bay 

John L. Carroll- City of Largo_web

Vice Chair: Commissioner John Carroll
City ofLargo

Hughes Headshot

Staff Contact: Amber Hughes, Senior Legislative Advocate
Florida League of Cities

Land Use & Economic Development

This committee addresses policies specific to municipal concerns with community redevelopment, economic development, growth management and land use planning issues, annexation, eminent domain, tort liability and property rights.

FLC Staff Contact: David Cruz  │  FLC Staff Assistant: Michaela Metcalfe   │ 2021-2022 Committee Roster 


Chair: Vice Mayor Jack Dearmin
City of LakeAlfred

Joseph McMullen_headshot_web

Vice Chair: Commissioner Joseph McMullen
Town of Oakland 


Staff Contact: David Cruz, Deputy General Counsel/Legislative Counsel
Florida League of Cities

Municipal Administration

This committee addresses municipal concerns with code enforcement, elections, emergency management, gaming, homeland security, public meetings, public property management, public records, public safety, and procurement, as well as charter counties and special districts.

FLC Staff Contact: Tara Taggart  │  FLC Staff Assistant: Michaela Metcalfe  │ 2021-2022 Committee Roster 

Kimberly Glas-Castro_web

Chair: Vice-Mayor Kim Glas-Castro 
Town of Lake Park 


Vice Chair: Vice Mayor Sam Fite
City of Bowling Green

Tara Taggart

Staff Contact: Tara Taggart, Legislative Policy Analyst
Florida League of Cities

Transportation & Intergovernmental Relations

This committee addresses municipal concerns relating to transportation and highway safety, as well as aviation, affordable housing (and homelessness), billboards, building codes, charter schools, rights-of-way and veterans affairs.

FLC Staff Contact: Jeff Branch  │  FLC Staff Assistant: Michaela Metcalfe  │ 2021-2022 Committee Roster

Rufus Borom headshot

Chair:  Commissioner Rufus J. Borom
City of Palatka

Jeff Hmara_Color_web

Vice Chair: Councilman Jeff Hmara

Village of Royal Palm Beach 

Jeff Branch

Staff Contact: Jeff Branch, Senior Legislative Advocate
Florida League of Cities

Utilities, Natural Resources & Public Works

This committee addresses policies specific to municipal concerns with coastal management, energy, environmental and wetlands permitting, hazardous and toxic wastes, recycling, solid waste collection and disposal, stormwater, wastewater treatment and reuse, water management, water quality and quantity.

FLC Staff Contact: Rebecca O'Hara  │  FLC Staff Assistant: Michaela Metcalfe   │ 2021-2022 Committee Roster 


Chair: Mayor Heidi K. Herzberg
City of Deltona 

Jen Ahearn-Koch - City of Sarasota_web

Vice Chair: Commissioner Jen Ahearn-Koch
City of Sarasota 


Staff Contact: Rebecca O'Hara, Deputy General Counsel
Florida League of Cities