FLC Icon

Bill Summary Details

Fireworks (Oppose – Preemption)

SB 140 (Hutson) and HB 65 (Rodriguez, A.M.) create an exemption allowing for the use of fireworks on four days: New Year’s Day (January 1), Memorial Day (last Monday in May), Independence Day (July 4) and New Year’s Eve (December 31). These bills appear to preempt any existing local regulations relating to the sale or use of fireworks on these four days. (Cook)